The Holy Coast “The Space We Haunt” Premieres on The Music Ninja

The Holy Coast formed in Phoenix Arizona in 2012. 

With all three members bringing something unique to the bands sound and after only a couple months of writing and recording at Walkers home studio The Holy Coast exploded on to the Phoenix live scene playing their first show in May 2013 opening for Mike Simonetti (Italians Do It Better) and Plastic Plates where the band enjoyed a very warm response from the large Phoenix audience. 

While continuing throughout the year writing and playing more shows along side Slow Magic, Superhumanoids and French Horn Rebellion the band began to build a loyal following in Phoenix.

In January 2014 the band recorded 5 songs at Flying Blanket Recording in Mesa, Arizona gaining the attention of Common Wall Media who agreed to release The Holy Coast EP.

The Holy Coast EP features 5 very different songs, while Brett’s vocal is the common thread, the bands sound is layered with depth, combining electronic and acoustic elements pulling influences from many genres.

Listen to the track below:

Silver Firs, “Icarus” Track/Video Debut on The Music Ninja

Check out the premiere on The Music Ninja
Watch the video on YouTube
Stream “Icarus” on Soundcloud 

The silver fir (Abies alba) is a common but somewhat underrated tree in the Swiss Prealps, where all members of this (identically named) band grew up. Although its wood isn’t very popular and its glory days as the star amongst Christmas trees are long gone, the silver fir holds its ground and characterizes the subalpine landscape.

But let’s be honest, as much as Switzerland is a suitable habitat for firs, it isn’t really known for a rich musical output. Silver Firs found this starting point quite comfortable. Without having to relate to a strong musical heritage, the band’s influences were much more global from the beginning. At the same time, coming from the unexciting small city of Bern and not from one of the more obvious music capitals, their sound isn’t easy to categorize. « [..] Filled with all sorts of wonderfully mossy backwoods eccentricities» wrote the music blog I Guess I’m Floating - a description that seems to fit pretty well.

While Silver Firs were still relatively unknown in their home country, last year’s EP#1 gained a lot of attention & blog love in North America. A few days after the song “Motherland” was posted on SoundCloud, it reached #4 on Hype Machine’s charts of the «Most Popular Tracks on Blogs Now». Features on Bandcamp, Indie Shuffle, KEXP and more online magazines followed. The EP then got airplay on more than 45 stations in the USA and Canada.

It took Silver Firs awhile to come up with their consecutive EP#2. A lot of time was invested in experimenting with percussion sounds & production techniques, never forgetting the pop side in their creations. At times, Silver Firs’ output could be described as afro-wave (“Heartland”), while other songs sound like psychedelic cocktail bar music (“Silent Rite”). In contrast to the summer evening vibes of the melodies, the cryptic lyrics seem to hint at the current contradictions of their home country.

In the meantime, Switzerland has discovered their qualities too. Out of the blue, Silver Firs were booked for the country’s biggest festival «Paléo», where they played with bands like The National or favorites Tinariwen.


Oh, Sister Records

Stream Chorus Grant’s New Album via Stereogum

Chorus Grant

Chorus Grant‘s masterful new album Space drops August 18th on Tambourhinoceros, and Stereogum has the full stream up now. Listen to its entirety here!

“This strikes me as a personal outpouring from a tremendous talent — 13 tracks of deftly arranged, heartfelt chamber pop well worth your attention.” -Chris DeVille

Check out the lead single “Godplans” below:

Dear Criminals “Petite Mort” Premieres on Tiny Mix Tapes

Check out the premiere here
Listen to “Petite Mort” on soundcloud
Montreal’s Dear Criminals is Charles LavoieVincent Legault and Frannie Holder’s side project. Having expressed their will to play together for years, they finally decided to unite efforts in this project where Charles’ intense and strong vocals and Frannie’s vulnerable and fragile voice complement each other in a very unique and touching way. This vocal mixture is blended in a textured soundscape created by Vincent’s arrangements and wisely chosen instrumentation, creating a musical tone deeply inspired by James Blake, Timber Timbre and Elysian Fields.

1. Crave
2. Storm
3. Face the Odds
4. Rose
5. Petite mort
6. Stay Tonight


August 21-22 –  Îles de la Madeleine, QC
August 24 – Montreal, QC

October 24 to Nov 4
Europe Tour (TBA)


Official Site